LIT 4334: The Golden Age of Children's Literature

Introductory Blog Post: Daniel

on January 13, 2013 7:25pm

My name is Daniel. I am a junior currently majoring in English, although unwillingly. I had other goals in mind but this is where everything has lead me and I have no alternative but to ride it out and hope it leads me somewhere.

I am taking this class because it a 3000 level or higher class, which is needed to complete critical tracking. I honestly do not have much interest in children’s literature because I outgrew that phase long ago. I prefer reading something more thought-provoking and mature. That being said, it is interesting to learn about the conflict and uncertainty of children’s literature. I do like how this class assesses my comprehension of the texts. I am looking forward to reading Winnie The Pooh and The Wonderful Wizard of Oz. I’ve read those as a child and would like to see I view those books now. I don’t enjoy participation in any class because I’d rather listen than contribute, and because it is characteristic of grade school. I’m indifferent about group projects because I prefer working by myself as opposed to a group because I don’t like relying on other people; however, I am open to their opinions.

My idea of “children’s literature” is any text that a child can read. It’s an extremely vague classification because the line at which one stop beings a child, physically and mentally is an arbitrary notion. I do not think the issue that is going on today is so important. There is no question that different texts can be viewed critically and be assessed differently, but just let a child read what he or she wants. As for my favorite texts, I enjoyed most of Dr. Seuss’s books and I really liked Winnie the Pooh. I think the term “Golden Age” is a reference to the period in which most of the widely-known “classics” were written by wealthy, white men. The term itself seems somewhat haughty and representative of historical oppression.

Leave a Reply

