LIT 4334: The Golden Age of Children's Literature

Introduction

on January 13, 2013 8:29pm

Image

Hello, I’m Sarah! I am an English major/Spanish minor and will be attending law school in the fall. My ultimate career goal is to become a child advocate, specializing in literacy and education. I’m originally  from Louisiana but I currently live in Bradenton, a small town just south of Tampa. I’m the oldest of five children and my younger sister, Hannah, is a sophomore here. I’m a huge TV fan and recently became obsessed with The Walking Dead. I also love SEC football, country music, and coffee. 

I am taking this course because I love children’s books. I took LIT 4331 over the summer and found that course extremely interesting. I really think it’s remarkable that these books which seem to have such simple plots and characters actually have deep moral meanings and raise complex issues. I am most looking forward to reading Winnie the Pooh and Alice in Wonderland. I am somewhat worried about the annotated bibliography. It’s been a couple years since I’ve written one, so I’ll need to refresh my memory. 

When I think of “children’s literature,” the images that come to my mind are picture books: Dr. Seuss, Brown Bear, Brown Bear, and The Rainbow Fish. My favorite text is Love You Forever by Robert Munsch. It tells the story of a young boy and his mother taking care of him. In the end, the roles are reversed and the son is now caring for his elderly mom. I can’t read the book without crying! I think the “Golden Age” means the epitome and rise of children’s literature. It brings up feelings of success and perfection. Some questions I have regarding this period of time is what makes certain books categorized as a product of the “Golden Age”: specific themes, the author’s status in society, etc.

 

 

Leave a Reply

