LIT 4334: The Golden Age of Children's Literature

David Costello Introduction

on January 10, 2013 7:10pm

Hello my name is David Costello. I am a third year English major pursuing a minor in both Educational Studies and History. As of right now I’m Pre-Law, but I kept the Educational Studies minor just in case I decide I might want to teach in the future. After graduating I hope to attend to be attending law school at UF and eventually would like to find myself working in the front office of a Major League Baseball organization.

I took this class for a multitude of reasons. Ever since I became an English major at UF I have always wanted to take classes that focus on a canon outside of my comfort zone. I have always been very fond of American Literature, so I have tried to broaden my horizons with British Lit, Caribbean Lit, Romantic Poetry, and other classes that expand my knowledge of the language. With this in mind, I jumped at the opportunity to take a class that focuses on a canon of literature that I had read in my youth, but never fully understood for its value. I am ecstatic to both relive my childhood through these novels, as well as learn new information from them that may have passed over my head at a younger age. I particularly am excited to deeply look “through the looking glass” into Alice In Wonderland, as it is one of my favorite childhood books.

When I think of the term “children’s literature” I specifically think of books I read as a child. However, from the first few days of this course I have already learned that this term encompasses a wide and complex variety of definitions. When I think of the term “Golden Age” I think of a time in history where the world was believed to be “morally good.” I am intrigued to see how these books reflect this sentiment and how they match values with the “Golden Age” during which they were written. Attached is my picture as requested.Image

Leave a Reply

